Barbara Gervin-Hawkins

Member of the House of Representatives of Texas. (U.S)

BARBARA GERVIN-HAWKINS is the state representative for District 120 of the Texas House of Representatives, which includes parts of San Antonio and Converse, and encompasses Windcrest and Kirby.

She graduated from Martin Luther King High School and earned a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Eastern Michigan University. She also holds a Masters degree in Education from the University of Nuestra Señora del Lago, where she is currently pursuing her PhD in Leadership Studies.

A leader in her community since 1981, Barbara is a passionate educator and entrepreneur and brings these skills with her to the Texas House. She is the Special Projects Coordinator of the George Gervin Youth Center and co-founder of the Gervin Academy, a charter school that serves more than 1,500 students throughout Bexar County. Barbara has certifications as a middle school principal and math teacher.

Barbara has helped more than 1,000 young people who left high school to obtain their diplomas. As a business owner, she has completed more than $ 50 million in brick and mortar projects, has created more than 130 quality affordable housing units and has developed an annual operating budget of $ 15 million dollars that provides extensive services to people most in need

In general, Barbara has brought more than $180 million dollars to the San Antonio community, employed 193 people, and trained leaders throughout the community. She is a member of the San Antonio Women's Hall of Fame, and a San Antonio Who's Who.

In 2016, she was elected to the Texas House of Representatives. It provides services in Criminal Jurisprudence, Culture, Recreation and Tourism, and in Rules and Resolutions Committees, as well as in the Subcommittee on Criminal Jurisprudence - Asset Forfeiture.

Barbara's political philosophy is that she was chosen to help people and to improve their community. She takes her role as an elected official seriously and will fight tirelessly to represent the people of District 120 in the Texas House.



Diplomatic, Parliamentary and Political Session